Event details

Date

Time

Duration

Friday, 25th September 2020

4:00PM BST
5:00PM CEST
11:00AM EDT
8:00AM PDT

1 hours

Register Now

Detecting antibodies that confer effective immunity is crucially important to understand a patient’s immune response to SARS-CoV-2. In particular, the ability to quantify the virus-neutralizing capacity of the immune system is key to support the development of suitable vaccines and antibody-based treatments such as convalescent plasma therapies.

This talk outlines our efforts in assessing the immune response in COVID-19 patients by use of a novel microfluidic in-solution immunoassay platform. With this new approach, we were able to comprehensively profile SARS-CoV-2 antibodies directly in minimally diluted serum of these patients.

During the event, we will be looking into:

  • Understand the drawbacks of standard immunoassays such as ELISA tests
  • Understand that affinity-based antibody profiling is key for a comprehensive understanding of the immune response against SARS-CoV-2
  • Learn about the ability to assess the immune response of COVID-19 patients directly in minimally diluted serum by use of a novel in-solution immunoassay platform
  • Understand how this technology can be leveraged by scientists in the fight against COVID-19

 

Presenters

Prof Tuomas Knowles

Prof Tuomas Knowles

University of Cambridge 
Founder and Chief Scientific Officer, Fluidic Analytics

View Bio
Professor Knowles holds a personal Professorship in the Department of Chemistry and at the Cavendish Laboratory at the University of Cambridge and is also a Fellow of St John’s College Cambridge. His current research interests are focused on using physical approaches to study the self-assembly of protein molecules both in the context of biological function and malfunction.
image -166 copy

Finn Price

Editorial Team, SelectScience

View Bio
Fionnbhar Price is a member of the SelectScience Editorial Team, who plays a core role in sourcing and publishing content for the site, with a particular focus on the field of applied chemistry. He has an MChem in Chemistry from Cardiff University, UK, and undertook a year in research characterizing bacterial protein.
Carrie Haslam

Share

Register

Note: By completing this form, you will receive a free membership to SelectScience and The Scientists’ Channel. SelectScience is a trade organization, we do not provide services to consumers and membership is for business purposes only. As a member you must provide us with a corporate email address to enable us (and our advertisers and sponsors) to contact you for marketing purposes. You can opt-out of marketing at any time. See our Privacy Policy.

Our registration process uses cookies, by submitting this registration form you agree to our cookie policy.